3rd Annual War of the Words Writing Competition Winners Announced


KENNESAW, Ga. (Nov 22, 2016) — We are happy to announce the winners of the 3rd Annual War of the Words Writing Competition, sponsored by the School of Communication and Media at Kennesaw State University.

First Place ($500 and a certificate):
Madeline McGee,  Junior, COM major Media Studies concentration

Second Place ($300 and a certificate):
Kaitlyn Lewis, Senior, Journalism and Emerging Media major

Third Place ($100 and a certificate):
Holly Summers, Sophomore, Public Relations Interest

Participants listened to a 60-minute informative presentation introduced by Keith Perissi and conducted by Paul Jenkins from KSU’s Joel A. Katz Music and Entertainment Business Program. After the presentation, participants wrote a feature or news story about the presentation under deadline. Competition submissions were reviewed by our distinguished faculty judges, Dr. Carolyn Carlson and Tim Gillman. Submissions were judged on content, writing quality, language, grammar, and consistency of style.

Prize money was donated by Hayden-McNeil Publishers and SOCM faculty. Thank you to Hayden-McNeil Publishing for providing the $500 first place award.