Updates from the Georgia Sociological Association's recent annual conference


KENNESAW, Ga. (Oct 29, 2012) — Miriam Boeri was awarded the Georgia Sociological Association’s Sociologist of the Year Award at the Annual Meeting October 26, 2012. Accepting on her behalf was former research assistant, Denise Woodall, now a graduate student at the University of Miami.

Faculty, students, and former students presented their research at Georgia Sociological Association Annual Meeting October 25-27 in Dahlonega, GA. Faculty members included Mel Fein, Gail Markle, Linda Treiber, and Cristina Stephens. Graduate students included Elena Gheorghiu (KSU); Katie McIntyre Reece (KSU grad, now at West GA); Brandon Attell (KSU grad, now at GA State). Undergraduate presenters were Rita Thomson and Daniel Pass. Congratulations to all on a job well done!

Linda Treiber assumed the Presidency of the Georgia Sociological Association for the 2012-2013 Year.