KSU Model UN wins at Southern Regionals


KENNESAW, Ga. (Jan 5, 2012)           Twenty-seven students from the Kennesaw State Model United Nations Team participated in the Southern Regional Model United Nations conference and won four Outstanding Individual Delegate awards.  Kennesaw students represented the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, and the Republic of Korea at the conference  from November 17th through the 19th.   Kennesaw State was one of forty five colleges and universities from across the South East to participate in the program and was one of the very few schools to win more than two Outstanding Individual Awards.  Of the 691 students participating in the event, fewer than 40 won this prestigious recognition.  The fact that Kennesaw State’s Model UN Team won four individual awards is a credit to the University.   Chris Jackson, Rachael Walton, and Bret Hanks won three of these awards representing the United Kingdom, while Kayla Jones representing the Republic of Korea won a fourth award. Although, the Netherlands delegation did not win individual awards, the Dutch delegates from Kennesaw State also performed with dedication and skill.   The Team Captain for Kennesaw State was Russell Midkiff and the Associate Captain was Karen Carvajalino. Coy Dumas served as country chair for the Netherlands, while Silvia Trejo was country chair for the Republic of Korea.  Chris  Jackson served as country chair for the United Kingdom and was justifiably proud of the fact that his UK delegation also won an award for excellence in policy papers.  Other Kennesaw State Model UN Team members included:  Falake Adegoye, Jacob Allen, Bailey Bledsoe, Osa Dawadu, Angel Fontalvo, Ruth Forsyth, Frank Gaddy, Patrick Hughes, Kamil Kamilov, Plamen Mavrov, Sumi Moon,  Lolian Omotosho, Pepima Saliki, Cecily Tataglione, Benjamin Thornton, Mary Hand, and Angelica Roldan. Stephen McKelvey of the Department of Political Science and International Affairs served as Faculty Advisor for the Team, which will be representing POLAND at the National Model United Nations in April 2012.