"High-Fives" Faculty and Student Recognition


KENNESAW, Ga. (Oct 18, 2016) — Faculty member Dr. Chuck Aust was recognized Oct. 14 as the KSU Alumni Association Betty L. Siegel Faculty Member of the Year in recognition of his outstanding scholarship, leadership and service.

A group of SOCM students participated in "A Day in the Life" at the AJC. According to Tracy Brown of the AJC, "We were quite impressed with all of our student groups. Their end-of-day presentations floored our top leadership team. All the students were so smart and intuitive about where we need to be to be successful."

Thomas Hartwell is this year's recipient of the School of Communication & Media National Advisory Board Scholarship. Thomas is a Journalism student.

SOCM student Masey Mclain has been in the news as the lead actress in the upcoming movie "I'm Not Ashamed." The movie comes out on Oct. 21 and is based on the life of Rachel Joy Scott, the first student killed in the 1999 Columbine High School shooting. Masey is a Media & Entertainment Studies student. Here is a link to the trailer: www.imnotashamedfilm.com

At Saturday's CHSS Homecoming luncheon, two SOCM current students were recognized as outstanding students: Matthew "John" Nelson, a Media & Entertainment Studies student, and Robert Barker, graduate student. Both John and Robert are graduating in December. Miguel Sepulveda, vice president at Cohn & Wolfe, was recognized as the outstanding alum from our Public Relations program.